PRMIA Announces 2020 Risk Management Challenge International Finalists

Congratulations to the PRMIA Risk Management Challenge regional winners who will advance to the international finals on April 20, 2020. The final round event will be conducted virtually and will include career development panel discussions and presentations by the two finalist teams before the judges select the 2020 winner.

Fifty-eight teams representing a total of 219 students competed in this year's Challenge. Nine PRMIA chapters hosted regional round events worldwide to narrow down the field to 12 finalist teams. We would like to recognize the tremendous dedication demonstrated by all of the teams and volunteers to persevere in this year's Challenge despite the disruptions caused by the coronavirus pandemic. This year's competition was fully virtual to ensure its continuity. 

Student teams have diagnosed risk management issues with Long Term Capital Management and tried to provide constructive solutions in improving the risk governance, model risk, and stress testing frameworks for the fund. Students also created profitable out-of-sample pair trading strategies using the MATLAB product suite, which simulated trades of the fund. 

Finalist Teams

University: Illinois Institute of Technology 
Team: IIT Hawks
Hemali Doshi
Rajat Dua
Zheng Senyi
Xing Zhang

University: AAMBFS
Team: Risk O'Mit Team
Ahmad Bedewi
Ayman Saber
Ahmed Amin

University: Università di Napoli Federico II
Team: DeltaFELA
Antonio Tufano
Fabrizia Cicala
Luciana Marchione
Emilia Tutino
University: University of Limerick
Team: Team 3
Darshan Gala
Krishna Maheshwari
Advitya Ramdev
Robert Shannon
University: McGill University 
Team: Perfect Hedge
Min Su
Zhixiu Xie
Aïcha Traoré
Xinyi Li
New York
University: Rutgers University
Team: Morpheus
Hirdai Sawnani
Sai Mohan
Ying Lan
Shiyang Ni
New York
University: Baruch College
Team: Team 9893
Alyssa Wei
Lin Jin Chen
Kanica J Khatri
Claudio Matteo Llin
New York
University: University of Miami
Team: Delta Gamma Theta
Nam Tran-Hoang
Tram Nguyen
Tahz Rashid
Petra Sobotova
University: Lomonosov MSU 
Team: CMC MSU 
Vadim Slivinski
Vladislav Kuznetsov
Artem Kaledin
Egor Kravchenko
University: University of Toronto
Team: Risky Toronto
Ki Beom Lee
Yichao Chen
Yong Jai Lee

University: University of Toronto
Team: HedgeHog
Alice Qiu
Lydia Gao
Cindy Zhu
Michael Ren
University: Simon Fraser University
Team: No Limits
Marisa McGillivray
Adam Saad
Sukriti Prabhdyal

The 2020 Challenge was made possible through the generous support of our Global Sponsor, MathWorks; our International Finals sponsors, QuantUniversity and the University of Toronto's Master of Financial Risk Management program; and our Toronto Regional sponsor, RBC.

Thank You to Our Global Sponsor


Thank you to our International Finals Sponsors



Thank you to our Toronto Regional Sponsor


Thank you to our sponsors, including:


Contact Us

Looking to further your career?

Become a Member

Sign Up for Mailing List