Becoming a Certified PRM™

The PRMIA PRM™ Designation is a series of evaluation exams, designed for the development of professional risk managers. Endorsed by leading university programs and industry firms, it is the global standard for risk management professionals.

Apply Now

Eligibility Requirements for Candidates

To become an eligible PRM Candidate, applicants must:

  • Hold a current PRMIA Sustaining OR RIM level membership; AND
  • have a completed graduate school degree (i.e., MBA, MSF, MQF, etc.); OR be a current CFA Charterholder (see Cross-over Qualifications for details)

Alternatively, if a master’s degree is not held:

  • A bachelor's degree with 2 years of full-time work experience*; OR
  • 4 years of full-time work experience*
*Work experience must be associated with the financial services industries (including regulatory or rating industries), or in the risk management department of any industry.

PRM Applicants who are graduates of university degree programs accredited by the PRMIA Risk Accreditation Program may be eligible for exemptions. Details can be found on the Risk Accreditation Program Page.

Exam Requirements

To receive the PRM designation, candidates must:


Candidates may take the exams in any order. The two-year period commences from the date of the first successful PRM examination. Candidates may take exams over more than a two-year period, but any exams passed more than two years in the past will need to be retaken.

Retaking exams: Candidates who do not pass an exam are eligible to retake the exam 60 days from the date of the last exam.

Thank you to our sponsors, including:


Contact Us

Looking to further your career?

Become a Member

Sign Up for Mailing List