Professional Risk Manager Designation

Built by a broad coalition of industry leaders and endorsed by leading university programs and industry firms, the PRM™ Designation is the leading risk manager credential, globally-recognized, graduate-level.


 PRM Program Enrollment

With an approved application, the path to the PRM Designation includes passing all required examinations within a two-year period. The entire enrollment period is 3 years, which allows for a study period prior to sitting for the exams.

Apply Now

Search current PRM holders

Remote-proctored examination options are available

Are you a current student? Current students are eligible to take the PRM Exam 1. Learn More


PRM Guidebook

Your complete complimentary guide to the PRM certification process. The PRM is the leading form of education, validation, and certification in the risk management profession. Developed to reflect the mission of PRMIA, the PRM Designation is designed with four objectives in mind:

  • To be a leader of industry opinion and a proponent for the risk management profession
  • To drive the integration of practice and theory and certify the credentials of those in our profession
  • To be global in our focus, promoting cross-cultural ethical standards, serving emerging as well as more developed markets
  • To be transparent, nonprofit, independent, member-focused, and member-driven

Download the PRM Candidate Guidebook to view details and the PRM syllabus. Then, download the PRM Self-assessment Tool to gauge your current expertise levels for all domains and create a personalized reading list.

Publicly available resources supporting the PRM syllabus may be used by all potential and current PRM program candidates.


Candidate Qualifications

To become an eligible PRM Candidate, applicants must:

  • Hold a current PRMIA Sustaining OR RIM level membership; AND
  • have a completed graduate school degree (i.e., MBA, MSF, MQF, etc.); OR be a current CFA Charterholder (see Cross-over Qualifications for details)

Alternatively, if a master’s degree is not held:

  • A bachelor's degree with 2 years of full-time work experience*; OR
  • 4 years of full-time work experience*
*Work experience must be associated with the financial services industries (including regulatory or rating industries), or in the risk management department of any industry.

PRM Applicants who are graduates of university degree programs accredited by the PRMIA Risk Accreditation Program may be eligible for exemptions. Details can be found on the Risk Accreditation Program Page.

Do You Qualify?

Select your experience level:

 Master's Degree

 Bachelor's Degree

 CFA CharterHolder

 I am a current student

 None of these


Maintaining Certification

Once the PRM Designation is achieved, holders must meet the following maintenance requirements:

  • Hold a current PRMIA Sustaining OR RIM level membership, starting with the day you obtain your PRM designation
  • Complete 20 Continuing Risk Learning (CRL) credits each calendar year starting with the calendar year immediately after the PRM designation is achieved

Download the Guidebook to learn more about maintaining the PRM Designation.



2015 to 2019 Program Transition

The PRM Designation program is currently in a transition period from the 2015 Syllabus to the 2019 Syllabus. To aid current PRM Candidates enrolled in the 2015 PRM Program, additional details on the 2015 to 2019 transition period can be found on the PRM transition webpage.

PRMIA has published a cross-map of the 2019 PRM Syllabus with the 2015 PRM Syllabus topics to describe the relationship between the two programs' syllabus.

PRM candidates enrolled in the 2015 PRM Program who intend to complete their PRM requirements before 1 July 2020 should refer to the 2015 PRM webpages and 2015 PRM Candidate Guidebook for syllabus and exam details. 


Contact Us

Looking to further your career?

Become a Member

Sign Up for Mailing List